Good Friday:) Firsts and Seconds

26 Mar

“First opportunity is the golden opportunity.” 
― Amit Kalantri

*************

Good Friday is a solemn day for Christains, but also a good day to reflect on our blessings and realize that the small discomforts and suffering that we might endure, cannot compare to that ultimate sacrifice on the cross.

I had a few firsts today. Even though my tooth pain isn’t quite all gone, I decided to just bite the proverbial bullet, and go about my day as usual. I went for a long early morning walk, which is part of my normal routine. Then, as I was walking, I thought, gee, I haven’t been to Good Friday services or Stations of the Cross since I was in grammar school at Blessed Agnes way back in the 60’s.

When I got home, I fixed a big spinach salad. A first, because I’ve been living on smoothies, shakes, ice cream and yogurt. Ah, solid food! I still have to chew on the right side only, with an occasional twinge, but worth it.

   
It was so good!

 So, my other first for today was going over to St. Gabriel’s at 2:30 for solemn services and Stations of the Cross. It was cool, but sunny outside. As I sat in church, the skylight above me bathed my face in warm sunlight. It felt very comforting. Almost like God was pointing a flashlight down at me saying, “Ah, there you are…where have you been?”

  
After church, I stopped at the store, then came home and went for a second walk. A good time to think and reflect. For dinner, I made a second spinach salad. Maybe tonight I’ll have my first Black Russian in a couple of weeks. Life is good!

I plan to savor all my firsts and indulge in all my seconds.

One Response to “Good Friday:) Firsts and Seconds”

  1. Bonita March 26, 2016 at 4:03 am #

    Happy special day my friend…

Leave a Reply

