Fantabulous Friday:) Famous People, Celebrity Citing and a Selfie

2 Apr

A celebrity is a person who works hard all of their life to become well known, and then wears dark glasses to avoid being recognized.
~ Fred A. allen

***********

O my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh!!!!. I can’t believe this happened to ME. IT WAS LIKE A DREAM! 

I woke up this morning at 7, with all the best intentions of going to kickboxing at the Y. My tooth extraction is doing better, but my right knee is killing me. I over did it at Zumba and walking yesterday. Old age!

I have been procrastinating for over two years on working on my “Great American Novel.” So, I decided today would be the perfect day to write. It was a grey and gloomy morning.  I get too distracted at home, so I decided to gather up my notes, rough draft, and iPad, and head off to the square and hang out at Sweet Spot Bakery until my senior art group at 2.  It’s nice and quiet there, and they have great coffee and sweet treats.

The square is normally pretty dead at 8 am, but today there were four or five nondescript big white paneled vans parked in the loading zone, and all kinds of cars in front of the Grand Hotel next to the bakery. I ended up parking a block away, dodging all kinds of people and equipment on my way. “Must be a pretty big wedding, and it’s only Friday,” I thought, as I plopped down in my usual chair by the window at Sweet Spot. 

All my notes we scattered on the table as I started tapping on my iPad. More commotion and people zipping past the window. About 8:30, I heard Miss Elizabeth let out a loud, “Oh man!” As she clicked off her phone. I wandered over to the counter and asked, “You OK?” 

She said, “I just got an order for six lattes and six blueberry scones, and they want me to deliver them next door ASAP. I’m here alone until Kathy gets here at 9.” She looked flustered as the noisy coffee machine hissed and sputtered.

I said, “I’ll run them over. I’m not busy.” There were also five or six people waiting in line, on a usual dead Friday morning. She whipped up the coffees and bagged the scones like a storm trooper. I grabbed the tray of coffees and bag of scones and proceeded next door to the hotel.

When I arrived, there was no one at the front desk, and there was some thick yellow plastic tape across the entrance. I ducked under the tape, miraculously not spilling or dropping anything. I could see a group of people at the end of the long corridor, so I walked down the hall and shouted, “Hi, are you the folks that ordered the six coffees from next door?”

With that, a bunch of people flew out of an adjoining room, and this big bald guy kept yelling, “CUT, CUT!” Then he looked at me and said, “What do you think you’re doing lady? We’re trying to film here!”

I would have been really, really  upset, but when I looked up, OH MY GOD!…It was George Clooney in the flesh. My mouth fell open, and I nearly dropped the coffees. He quickly grabbed the containers before they slipped from my hand. Smart move. He would have been wearing a gallon of scalding hot lattes.

After my initial shock and having the foresight to close my gaping mouth, I asked, “Mr. Clooney, would you, ah…mind terribly if, ah…I took a picture?” I fumbled for my phone in my pocket while his entourage approached, trying to shoo me away. Mr. Clooney graciously raised his hand with that…it’s ok gesture. With trembling hands, I punched in my cell code, incorrectly a couple of times, then finally tapped the camera icon. Everyone waited patiently, reaching for their coffee, rolling their eyes, while I snapped a picture. A selfie!  CLICK… I LOVE YOU MR. CLOONEY!

  
IT WAS A DREAM! Damn!  When I clicked the selfie… I woke up from my dream. A vivid, lovely dream. I wrote down all the details so I wouldn’t forget any of it. I told my mom about my dream when I called her at 9 am, and she suggested I save it for my April Fools Day blog. Great idea Mom. 

I still love you Mr. Clooney! 

Happy April Fools Day my friends! 

But, who’s the fool? You missed out George Clooney!

3 Responses to “Fantabulous Friday:) Famous People, Celebrity Citing and a Selfie”

  1. Bonita April 2, 2016 at 4:33 am #

    What am I gonna do w/u?!!

  2. Dan Hen April 2, 2016 at 4:59 pm #

    You fooled me on this one !

    • toniandrukaitisToni April 4, 2016 at 3:25 am #

      Thanks Mr. Dan. I was hoping people would kinda believe it if I wrote realistically. I had even some of my best friends going. Even the young gal who works there at the bakery part time was fooled till the end. I hope Mr. Clooney doesn’t mind. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

