Sunday Sermon and Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut

2 May

Everyone in this world is nuts, the difference is some of them just really good at disguising it.

Rea Lidde

********

A beautiful day in McKinney, sunny and cool. Greeting before 9 o’clock Mass was blessed with endless smiles and hugs. There was a baptism, wonderful hymns and songs, and a good sermon by Father Charles. 

Today’s Gospel…

Gospel JN 14:23-29Jesus said to his disciples:

“Whoever loves me will keep my word,

and my Father will love him,

and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him.

Whoever does not love me does not keep my words;

yet the word you hear is not mine

but that of the Father who sent me…

*********

My take on it…being a good person, being honest and faithful, following the commandments, and loving one another is all that is necessary for eternal life, not to mention, a good life here on earth.

*********

After Mass, I usually stop at Sprouts to see what’s on sale. Oh my! Say it isn’t so. I have no will power. 

They had dark chocolate covered almonds on sale. $4.99 a pound. 3.75 lb.  Then dark chocolate raisins only $2.99 a pound.  3.52 lb. Also walnuts $3.99 a pound. 2.51 lb. I was in nut heaven. After all, dark chocolate is good  for you. Nuts are healthy and raisins are good, too. 

Great sale! Unfortunately, there were several stop lights, so I probably ate a pound on the way home. But, all good for me, right? 

I’m just a nut, and not very good at disguising it. 

6 Responses to “Sunday Sermon and Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham May 3, 2016 at 12:22 am #

    I could go for a Cashew Carmel Dark Chocolate Turtle right about now. 😉

    • toniandrukaitis May 3, 2016 at 12:23 am #

      Making me hungry! Sounds good to me.

      • Brenda Davis Harsham May 3, 2016 at 12:27 am #

        And kahlua and milk to sip. Ahhh. I’m getting ideas. LOL

      • toniandrukaitis May 4, 2016 at 4:15 pm #

        Hi Brenda. How are you, my friend? I stumbled upon a blogger named Kim. Perhaps you already follow her, but In case you haven’t, she is zipstride.wordpress.com

        Her writing is beautiful and thoughtful and poetic like yours. I thought you two had a lot in common by sharing your world with everyone and expressing it so creatively.

        A lovely day here in Texas. I hope you are enjoying your spring.

      • Brenda Davis Harsham May 4, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

        Thanks, Toni. We are enjoying spring here, with it wet, gray skies and dripping leaves. I’ll check Kim out. Blessings.

  2. InfiniteZip May 4, 2016 at 9:20 am #

    Dark chocolate covered almonds….mmmmmm….my new fave from Richards Foodporium is chipotle honey roasted cashews….so flavorful and I knot the bag so they make it home intact…..then I munch😊 nuts are the best.

Leave a Reply

