Sunday Sermon:) And a Blessed Mother’s Day

9 May

“I realized when you look at your mother, you are looking at the purest love you will ever know.” 
― Mitch Albom, For One More Day

************

The clouds threatened this morning, but no rain before church. It was an especially good morning to be greeting before Mass. All the mothers were  dressed in their finest, with smiling faces, with children and babies in tow. It was good to say, “Happy Mother’s Day,” and be greeted in return. 

Then, to add to the lovely Ascension Sunday service, several children were making their First Communion. Proud reverent young faces. Handsome boys sporting white shirts and grown up ties, and the girls all dressed in white, with veils and ribbons, like little brides. The best part was watching them return to their seats. They had that angelic look of receiving a special gift.

Father also my made sure to have a special prayer for all the mothers and women who care for others. 

************

Gospel Jn 17 20-26

Lifting up his eyes to heaven, Jesus prayed saying:

“Holy Father, I pray not only for them,

but also for those who will believe in me through their word,

so that they may all be one,

as you, Father, are in me and I in you,

that they also may be in us,

that the world may believe that you sent me.

And I have given them the glory you gave me,

so that they may be one, as we are one,

I in them and you in me,……………..

*******************

Now, for my Mother’s Day. I talked to my beautiful Mom this morning, as I do every morning since I can remember. That’s the best way to start my day. She has been my inspiration, my best friend, and the joy of my life.

  
Then, being a pretty awesome mother myself, (all modesty aside) my wonderful son, Joe and his lovely wife, Lindsay, sent me some beautiful pink roses that came with a cute clear vase that will be painted in the future.

  
Then, when I got home from church, more beautiful flowers and chocolates from my dear son, Matt. I’m one lucky mom.

  
“I realized when you look at your mother, you are looking at the purest love you will ever know.” 

― Mitch Albom

VERY TRUE!

I hope you all had a great day. I sure did. I am truly blessed.

  
My babies! They are in their 30’s now…or are they still babies?

2 Responses to “Sunday Sermon:) And a Blessed Mother’s Day”

  1. Pride in Photos Photography May 9, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

    Yes, it looks like a blessed Mothers Day for you! We can never stop being grateful for what we have been given. Happy Belated Mothers Day.

  2. Brenda Davis Harsham May 9, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

    I’m so glad you were remembered and cherished for Mother’s Day. And the photos, delightful!

Leave a Reply

