Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom

11 May

“You really don’t know which calls are important until you say ‘Hello’ and find out who it is.”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*************

“I believe there’s a calling for all of us. I know that every human being has value and purpose. The real work of our lives is to become aware. And awakened. To answer the call.” 
― Oprah Winfrey

*************

Yesterday, I told my somewhat amusing story about getting a call at 5:30 in the morning from a friend in need. I was sound asleep, couldn’t see who it was, but I answered the phone. It got me to thinking about how our calling in life is similar to our actual phone etiquette. 

I’m one of those dinosaurs that actually still has a landline phone and a cell phone. I’ve had that number for almost a dozen years. Granted, the majority of the calls I receive are solicitations, but I STILL ANSWER THE CALL. My sons and family call me on it, this way they know I’m at home. If I don’t answer, and it’s important, then they’ll call my cell. 

I know a lot of people who look at a ringing phone and say, “I don’t recognize the number,” then they ignore it. Some even ignore the ringing without looking because they are just too darn important to be troubled. “They’ll leave a message if it’s important.” Well, I have a son that doesn’t believe in leaving messages. And he’s very important.

My point here is…You really don’t know which calls are important until you say “Hello” and find out who it is. I answer all my calls, even the annoying solicitations. If it’s a robo-call, I say, “No, thank you” to the automated machine. (I’m polite) If it is a real-live person, I politely say, “No, thank you.” But, if it’s a really obnoxious relentless annoying solicitor, I let them go on and on and on, thus wasting their precious time too. Then, I say, “No, thank you.” (That’s about as rude as I can get. I just can’t hang up on a real person, annoying or not.)

The same goes for your calling in life or the people that come into your life. You may have to answer a lot of wrong numbers before you get THE important call. Or, sometimes you might get that life-changing call out of the blue, and if you ignore it, they may not call back. Opportunity may knock, but if you don’t answer the door, you’ll never know.

JUST ANSWER THE CALL!!!  

OPEN THE DOOR!!!

 
  

Leave a Reply

