Friday:) Friendship, Fluffy Clouds, and Furry Friends

4 Jun

True friends are placed together for the purpose of accomplishing great achievements that help others.Ellen J. Barrier

************

Today, I’m going to tell a story about what happened yesterday, and tomorrow I’ll write about what happened today, but it will be yesterday by then. So now, if you are thoroughly confused, welcome to my world. 

Yesterday, I spent most the day with my neighbor and friend, Mike. He was in horrible pain for weeks and needed a root canal. He kept putting it off because he didn’t have anyone to take him and pick him up. Well, why didn’t he say so. I told him, “Call your dentist ASAP and I’ll take you.”

I picked him up yesterday at 9:30 in the morning,  drove to the dentist doing the root canal, and sat with him while his two pills kicked in. Most pain meds don’t work on him so he wanted gas and novacaine too. I stayed with him until they started the procedure. I know, if it was me, I’d appreciate some company. I get nervous. 

I went to the store quick, then they called, and I picked him up at 11. He was feeling great and wanted to get a milkshake after fasting. We went to Nom Nom and sat there until his next appointment with a different dentist at 1 for a temporary crown. ( I hope he doesn’t read this, but he was so loopy from the drugs and numb, that he was pretty funny.) While he was there, he signed up for the frequent customer program. Every time he tried to eat a spoonful of his shake, it dripped down his face. 

Today, he asked why he kept getting texts from some place called Nom Nom. He totally had no recall of being there. 

After ice cream, we headed over to the dentist for his crown. We were early and the office people were eating lunch. Because Mike was still loopy, I was able to get a selfie. He didn’t remember a thing. 


By now it was pouring torrents of rain outside. When they started working on his crown a little after 1, I went back to let his dog Bella out. She said, “No way! It’s raining out there!”


We just sat and watched the rain, until they called at 3 to say Mike was ready. The rain slowed down and Bella went out before I left. 

Mike felt great, no pain, but I think he lost about five or six hours of memory in time. That’s good. Root canal is nothing you want to remember. He was very appreciative of the rides, watching Bella, and keeping an eye on him. I just told him, “That’s what friends are for. You’d do the same for me.” I have been blessed with so many good friends. 

Here are my fluffy clouds from my evening walk. 


And now, my furry friend, Mr. Bunny. 


What a wonderful world I live in! 

2 Responses to “Friday:) Friendship, Fluffy Clouds, and Furry Friends”

  1. Cindy June 4, 2016 at 6:05 pm #

    Hi Toni! This is Cindy Thalman (Trandel when we knew each other). I came across your facebook page and remembered so many fun times we spent together with our kids back in Westmont, IL. My girls, Holly and Heather, and your boys. They are all so grown! I would love to catch up with you! Please reply, when you have a minute. Thanx and God bless! 🌷

    • toniandrukaitis June 5, 2016 at 3:06 am #

      Hi Cindy. It’s funny. I think about you and he girls sometimes, and wonder how you are. I’ll try and friend you on Favebook or friend me. I’d love to catch up. Thanks for reaching out.
      Toni

Leave a Reply

