Saturday:) Some More Stories About Friendship

5 Jun

“A friend will say have fun and wave goodbye. A good friend gives you a ride to the airport and sends you off with a hug.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

(Thanks Karen)

*********************
As promised, I’m writing about Friday friendships on Saturday because Friday I wanted to write about Thursday friendships yesterday. But, to add to the confusion, I’ll throw in a Saturday story about today at the end of the Friday wrap up here. I just like to mess with you.

The first Friday of the month, I volunteer teaching art to a lovely bunch of seniors at Towne Creek Apartments. I used to go every Friday for about eight years, but that’s another long story. I always bring some lunch, snacks, dessert, drinks, etc. I made some homemade egg salad with mayo and cream cheese, prepared a dozen sandwiches, I took fixins for cheese nachos, and cream cheese with blackberry jam spread for crackers and sugar cookies. (Hmm? A cheesy theme going on here.)

I was inspired by my trip to Santa Fe, so I brought some examples of the watercolors I had done and also brought around 200 photos for possible references. Armed with a basket of food, watercolor paper, brushes, paints, etc., I arrived around 2:30. We looked at pictures for a while then dove into our projects. Miss Kathy had her two grandchildren visiting and asked if it was ok for them to join us. Well, of course.

I think Miss Kathy’s is as nice As the one in the museum.



Her granddaughter painted a bird feeder.


Miss Bonnie’s work in progress.

Mr. Angel didn’t get to finish his Georgia O’Keefe.

We took a break for dinner.


This was my watercolor example.


This is Miss Nelma’s watercolor. Very nice.

When I got home around 6:30, I went for a walk. It’s been so darn rainy, I haven’t been able to get much walking in. Then, I needed to pack for my trip to Chicago, straighten the house, and try and get some sleep. It was well after 4am before I fell asleep. (I’m a nervous traveler) Then, I set the alarm for 8 am but woke up at 7. 

Here’s the other friendship story. My good friend Karen picked me up at 10:30 this morning to take me to the airport. Only a good friend will take you to the airport and say, “Any time.” And, really mean it. I hate going to the airport, but I’ll do it for family and good friends. The rest of you are on your own. 

It’s been a long day, but a good day.

One Response to “Saturday:) Some More Stories About Friendship”

  1. Bonita June 5, 2016 at 3:04 am #

    U r. Such a busy soul! Have fun in Chicago!!!

Leave a Reply

