Wednesday:) What a Wonderful Watercolor, Mom…and You’re Having WHAT For Dinner?

9 Jun

“I’ve had many amazing best friends in my lifetime, but the most amazing best friend has always been my sweet mother.”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**********************

I always tell Mom, “The nut doesn’t fall far from the tree.” We are both a couple of nuts. We spent the entire day together, just chatting, giggling, snacking, eating, painting, more snacking, visiting friends, and checking out the entertainment downstairs.

We sat down at the table and worked on a watercolor landscape this afternoon. As always, the student surpassed the teacher. We looked at a photo from my trip to Santa Fe and I suggested how to sketch it out and what colors to use. She did a great job. I like hers better.

This is pretty good. Mine or Mom’s???


This one is pretty good. Mine or Mom’s???

Did you guess right???


Yes, the first one, the more colorful mountains and vibrant sky is Mom’s. I’ve always said,”I’m not a great artist but, man…I’m a great teacher.”

When we finished painting, it was almost time to pick up her dinner from downstairs. The hot dog just sat on the counter, didn’t look too appetizing. The dessert was a brownie with a tiny scoop of vanilla ice cream. When we came up, mom said that she always throws out the brownie and just eats the ice cream. What? Sacrilege! I told her that I’d eat the brownie. So, I added a little chocolate frozen yogurt on my brownie, and I added another scoop of ice cream from her freezer onto her dish. Guess what we had for dinner? Yep! We had ice cream for dinner.


The nut doesn’t fall far from the tree. Like mother like daughter.

One Response to “Wednesday:) What a Wonderful Watercolor, Mom…and You’re Having WHAT For Dinner?”

  1. Bonita June 9, 2016 at 12:55 pm #

    Great dinner 🍨

Leave a Reply

