Thankful Thursday:) Blessings Shared

10 Jun

“Those blessings are sweetest that are won with prayer and worn with thanks.” ― Thomas Goodwin

***************

Tuesday, I shared my story about finding a wallet on the airplane and the adventures that followed. If you missed it, it was a good one. I’ll summarize. I found a wallet with $300, no I.D., just a business card. I called the person on the card. I was pretty sure if I turned it in, it wouldn’t get to the owner. The business card man said it wasn’t his, so he posted info on Facebook, and I found the rightful owner and mailed it to the young man. I have been blessed and believe in paying it forward. 


The mother of the young man was very grateful and sent me the following text….

Hi! My sister inlaw just texted and said she got the package today! I wish I had told you to use some of the money for shipping! Thank you so much for your kindness. I know XXXX would have felt horrible when he realized he left it on the plane. He’s an awesome 16 year old and I know he will follow threw with your request to pay it forward. He’s been going through some tough “teenage stuff” and went to Oklahoma to relax and clear his mind. After we talked I texted him and said ” you know that was God building your faith, right?” He said, “Yea mom. I know.” He is spending this week at a Christian Teenage Camp. You are the boost he needed and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Big HUG! XXXXX XXXXX

******************

When I read the text, I didn’t make it to the end before I got a little misty. I knew there was a reason I found the wallet and not someone else. Somewhere out there, there’s a young man who will pay a kindness forward, and he will know that there are good honest people in the world.

It feels great to do a kindness for a stranger, and you don’t always have to be thanked. But, when you are thanked, it feels pretty darn good. You can never be too grateful for your blessings. 

2 Responses to “Thankful Thursday:) Blessings Shared”

  1. Bonita June 10, 2016 at 3:25 am #

    I just sent over a dozen hugs!

    • toniandrukaitis June 10, 2016 at 5:26 am #

      You are just too sweet. Thanks. We definitely need to catch up when I get back.

Leave a Reply

