Frantic Frenzied Friday:) It’s A Good Thing

2 Jul

“A frantic pace may win the race, but a gentle start will win the heart.” 

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

Wow! That’s very deep, Miss Toni!

**************************

What a frantic Friday! I started with a trip to the orthopedic doctor at 9 am. My knee has been bothering me for many months. It hasn’t slowed me down, and I still walk everyday, it just hurts when ai do.

When the doctor took an ultrasound of the knee to find where to place the injection, he told his assistant, “Take a picture, Josh.” I said, “Wait, wait, wait. Toni needs to take a picture, too.” I’m sure I was his first patient to ask to take a picture of a knee injection. (Look away, JoAnn…..)


Dr. Bridwell. I told my senior friends, “Nice doctor, very knowledgeable, but I have shoes in my closet older than him.”

I’m hoping to have some relief soon. He said it may take a couple of days. I’ll keep you posted.

After the doctor, Imhad enough time to run to the grocery store to get food, snacks, drinks and dessert for my senior art group at Towne Creek, where I volunteer on Friday. I bought two pizzas, chips, cookies, a 24 pack of bottled water, and a 2 liter ginger ale. From the store, I had time to meet friends for lunch at Palio’s at 11:30, then run over to a friend’s house who is out of town a few days to get mail and water plants and pots. Then, ran home, gathered materials for senior art group. By now, it was 2:15. I arrived around 2:30. I shared a few stories about my Chicago trip, then started our art project.

I didn’t have a plan, so I walked into our well stocked art closet and looked around. We have different levels, so I decided on working on large black paper.


Mr. Angel worked with colored pencil. Even more exciting and colorful in person.


Miss Nelma painted a rooster with acrylic. She didn’t get to finish, but very cool.


Miss Bonnie used pasted chalk.


Miss Kathy used both pastel and acrylic. Nice!


Then, we stopped for a prayer and a mid-day meal.  We always say a nice prayer of thanks. Miss Nelma led the prayer and started by thanking God for our blessings, our  meal, and Toni’s wonderful visits. I was honored.

Miss Mary, in the back, joined us for dinner, but didn’t want to paint today. All are welcome.

Everyone was having so much fun and enjoying their artwork that I didn’t have the heart to stop at our scheduled 6pm, and we worked until almost 7:30. 

Oh yes, when I arrived, there was a lucky penny waiting for me on one of the far tables.

(I always get rewarded for my kindness.)


I stopped for gas on the way home, grabbed my mail and bumped into Harvey and Elke next door outside. We chatted a while. By the time I finally plopped down on the couch to start writing this, it was almost 9pm. Twelve hours of non-stop frantic frenzied Friday.

It was a good day. I’m Glad glad it’s Black Russian Friday. Yay!!!!


2 Responses to “Frantic Frenzied Friday:) It’s A Good Thing”

  1. Carole Sarah July 2, 2016 at 2:53 am #

    I love all the pictures. Thank you so much for sharing with me. I am especially grateful for all you do to make Bonnie’s life so much more exciting. Love you!

    • toniandrukaitis July 2, 2016 at 4:06 am #

      Miss Bonnie is such a sweetheart. I always get a hug and a kiss and the biggest smile. She really has a great talent and is so proud of her art and sharing it with you. So, maybe be surprised just in case it’s a gift for someone,

Leave a Reply

