Saturday:) SPS~ Severe Procrastination Syndrome

3 Jul

“I’m a big believer in putting things off, In fact, I even put off procrastinating.

~ Ella Varner

*********

Today, I battled a bad case of Severe Procrastination Syndrome. I told a friend about it, and he said he had never heard of it. I said that’s because I just made it up, self-diagnosed my symptoms, and discovered that there was no cure. Sure, you can take little baby steps, but it always comes back.


I am very skilled at it. This morning, with no agenda requiring an alarm, I didn’t get up and dressed until 3 pm. Yes, 3 pm. I did call my mother at 9:45, made some tea, but then just laid around most the day, checking emails, Facebook, reading, etc.


I also have also been self-diagnosed with SSMA~ Severe Social Media Addiction. While I’m sipping my tea, I flip from Facebook to email to WordPress with an occasional texting frenzy with friends. Basically, until about 5 pm, my only exercise was limited to my two pointer fingers. Yes, I’m old school, never learned to type or the thumb texting thing.

It was pretty darn hot all day, which added to the lethargy. But, I did have a glimmer of ambition around 8pm. I put on my walking shoes, and walked a few blocks to test my knee and steroid injection from yesterday. It was feeling pretty good…for a few blocks, then I started to feel some pain and pulling. Not good. My friend Debbie called, giving me a good excuse to sit on the bench in the park and finish our talk.

Enough walking…back to procrastination. I sat on the bench for a while before shuffling home in the dark. 



One Response to “Saturday:) SPS~ Severe Procrastination Syndrome”

  1. GP Cox July 3, 2016 at 9:52 am #

    I see you found my motto and favorite pastime!!

Leave a Reply

