Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom~ Soar Like An Eagle

7 Jul

“If we never had the courage to take a leap of faith, we’d be cheating God out of the chance to mount us up with wings like eagles and watch us soar.”

~Jen Stephens

***********

I was sitting on Mom’s balcony one evening, when I saw a magestic eagle gliding through the summer sky. The carefree way he soared against the gusty winds made me think of how powerful and strong the eagle must be. Against all odds, against the harsh elements and human injustice, he survives. The eagle not only survives, he flourishes, brandishing his mighty wings high above us, as if to say, “Anything is possible. Look at me.”

The eagle is an inspiration. Nature’s way of giving hope. God’s way of giving strength. If I sound a bit nostalgic today, it’s because I just got back from our weekly Wednesday Divorced And Separated Support Group at church. We’ve been meeting for over six months now, and I’ve seen such growth, caring, sharing and support from within this group, but also within myself. Everyone has been so kind and supportive. But, the main ingredient, the common thread has always been faith, the faith that God gives us all eagle’s wings and we must decide if we want to soar against the elements or cower in the darkness. I choose to soar!


Leave a Reply

