Theme Song Thursday:) Yellow Bird

8 Jul

The reason birds can fly and we can’t is simply because they have perfect faith, for to have faith is to have wings.

― J.M. Barrie, The Little White Bird

************

“Birds are very fortunate to have faith. They don’t question whether they can fly or not. They just spread their wings and soar, no fear, no hesitation, just faith. If we all could be like birds?”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

************

This evening, I waited till after 8:30 to take a walk, not only to avoid the blistering Texas heat, but also to test my own wings, actually my right knee. My knee has been bothering me for months. Last Friday, I went to the doctor for a steroid injection. It was ok for a couple of days, but then it felt even worse. So, I’ve been laying low, no walks since Saturday. I have an appointment in the morning to see the doctor again, hopefully another avenue of treatment. 

As I started my walk tonight, and rounded the first corner, a large yellow bird was singing jubilantly, flying from branch to branch of the nearby tree. Then, the bird flew over my head, chirping at me, as if he was trying to tell me something. He or she did this several times until I decided to take a picture, then capture a few seconds of video. The yellow bird kept trying to talk to me. I BELIEVE IN SIGNS. Was this a sign? Maybe he was saying, “If you have perfect faith, you too will have wings to fly.” 


I walked a couple of miles, and guess what? It wasn’t too bad. Not great, but not excruciating pain like Saturday night. I guess I’ll see what the doc has to say in the morning. I miss my daily walks…I need to fly…I need to soar.

Leave a Reply

