Saturday:) From Sunny Skies To Severe Storms~ All In A Day

10 Jul

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.” ― Rabindranath Tagore

******************

It was already scorching hot this morning, narely a cloud in the sky. When I went for a short morning walk with Bella, I tried to stroll under the shady trees to avoid the heat.


Then, time to test out the old knee with a Zumba class. I hadn’t been to class in a few weeks, and I did pretty well, mostly because I avoided the twisty jerky motions and jumping jacks. Not too bad.

Dr. Bridwell had mentioned that the exercise bike, walking and swimming would be good exercise. Well, two out of three. (I don’t do water.) So, I rode the bike a few miles, 4.29 miles, 25 minutes. Then, I got off the bike, stretched a little, then walked up the five steps.Yikes! The knee gave way. Maybe I over did it? I rested it and massaged it a few minutes, then it was ok.


Nothing on my agenda, no plans, so I stopped at McDonald’s for an iced tea, check emails, and people watch. I do some of my best thinking that way. I pretty much had the place to myself.


The afternoon brought a few clouds, then a few more, then kaboom, the skies opened up. It was a well needed rain, but the severe weather closed airports and delayed flights. Poor Mr. Mike got diverted to Houston, and little Bella gets to visit a little longer.


I sit here, with open windows, a gentle breeze, and the fresh scent of rain quenching the thirsty earth. All is calm.

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

Leave a Reply

