Saturday:) Savor The Moments

17 Jul

“I want to take all our best moments, put them in a jar, and take them out like cookies and savor each one of them forever.” ― Crystal Woods, Write like no one is reading

**************

I was traveling on an airplane recently. It was an early flight, and I hadn’t eaten much the day before, so I was pretty hungry. Not being a big fan of airport cuisine, I decided that I could wait until my final destination. The flight was on time, I had no trouble boarding, and I was even bumped up to an aisle seat without charge. My lucky day. 

When the flight attendants came down the aisle with the beverage cart, we were each given a little cookie. A Stroopwafel, to be exact. I commented to the man seated next to me, “Well, this looks pretty filling.” But, in truth, it was an extremely tastey cookie. He gobbled his down in about twenty seconds. I, on the other hand, after the first tiny bite, decided to savor the flavors. Each little bite sat on my tongue for a couple of minutes. It probably took me twenty minutes to finish my Stroowafel. It was delicious.


You’re probably wondering where I’m going with this story about a cookie. As I was enjoying my hearty breakfast, I thought about all the things that we take for granted in life, and how we gobble things down without thinking, without savoring  each moment. I tend to let a piece of fine chocolate rest on my warm tongue for minutes, feeling the chocolate melt, contemplating how divine and delicious the chocolate is. I really do try and appreciate the little things and the special things in life.

If you’re reading this, I’m sure that the next time you have a piece of chocolate, you just might let it melt slowly on your tongue and realize that it is so much more satisfying and delicious when you don’t gobble it down. (Nice metaphor.)

Leave a Reply

