Sunday Sermon, and Sitting With the Shark.

25 Jul

God is able to do more than you ever imagine!

Keep trusting God. Your miracle will surely come true.” 

― Lailah Gifty Akita

****************

Today’s Gospel, Luke 11, was about one of the disciples asking Jesus how to pray. The answer was the words of The Lord’s Prayer, or as some call it, The Our Father. Then Jesus went on to say, if you are persistent in asking God for something, he will answer your prayers.

“And I tell you, ask and you will receive;seek and you will find;

knock and the door will be opened to you. 

For everyone who asks, receives;

and the one who seeks, finds;

and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. 

My take on it…yes, this may be true, BUT, and I believe there is a BUT, your petitions must be sincere, your heart honest and true, and your request must be worthy. You can’t say, “Oh Lord, won’t you buy me a Mercedez Benz…” That’s been done. You need to pray for strength, or health, or help, not a new car or television or to win the lottery.

*****************

After Mass, I stopped for coffee at McDonald’s with a couple of friends from church. While I was there, I received a text from my good friend Sherri Murphy. She asked if I’d like to join her and her family and go over to her parent’s house for lunch and swimming. I said sure. I just needed to go home and change out of my church clothes. (I didn’t tell her that, not only do I NOT swim, but I’m terrified of water.) It sounded like a fun afternoon, none the less.

I arrived at their house before 1, and we packed up their truck with a ton of food Sherri prepared, and snacks to take to Mom and Dad’s. Sherri had this huge inflatable toy that I sat in the back with. I thought it was a shark, as it had a fin at the top and I couldn’t see his nose. So, we all laughed because I was sitting with the shark in the back of the truck. The thing took up the whole back seat and then some. Help!


It was a fun afternoon. We had a great lunch followed by ice cream sundaes. Everyone went swimming except me and Grandma and Grandpa. We watched the kids play and swim, and even Mr. Murphy was wresting the shark in the pool…which was actually a dolphin or porpoise?  It was funny. It was a terribly fun afternoon on a terribly hot day in Texas. 

Thanks Murphy Clan!


Leave a Reply

