Tuesday:) Toni’s Tip of the Day…About Writing

27 Jul

“You’re never too old or too young to learn, to write, or to tell your story.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**************
“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ― Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

**************

Three and a half years into writing this blog, I still feel like I have something to say, to share. Mostly, my posts are mundane, monotonous, or melodramas of my medieval existence. I also love alliteration, not to be confused with illiteration. It has become an addiction of sorts, a self-proclaimed challenge. I started out challenging myself to write every day for one year. That was January 1st, 2013. I haven’t missed a day yet. Need I say more?

The idea or theme of what to write each day does not always come easily. I may scan through my photos or Facebook for inspiration. Today, I was checking my Twitter entries and reading posts that I follow. My writer friend, Liz, had several re-tweets from writers that she follows. One that caught my eye was from author, Katie Lewis, kathryndlewis.com.

Ms. Lewis explained that if you are a writer and you are not writing, there is only one reason for that…you are lazy. Hmmm? She has a point! She suggested seven points to help avoid being a lazy writer. I will summarize for the lazy writer.

1) Go to the library and look at the books.

2) Read, read them, everyone, everything, including cereal boxes. (I do that, not all the books, but cereal boxes, toothpaste labels.)

3) Learn which writers work for you and which don’t. (Read what you enjoy)

4) Write EVERY DAY. (I do that)

5) Create a space in your home for writing. (Does the couch with the TV on and an iPad on my lap count?)

6) Set a daily writing goal.

7) Play an active role in the creative community.( Funny she should say that. I belong to McKinney Creative Community. Nice talented folks, meeting every second Tuesday)

Then, her final words of advice were profound, if not profane, so I have to abbreviate…

THEN SIT DOWN, AND F’N WRITE!

Good advice. My advice…you’re never too old or too young to learn, to write, or to tell your story.

One Response to “Tuesday:) Toni’s Tip of the Day…About Writing”

  1. Dan Hen July 27, 2016 at 7:06 am #

    Write on !

Leave a Reply

