Thankful Thursday and the Ten Thousand Dollar Tooth

5 Aug

“Those blessings are sweetest that are won with prayer and worn with thanks.” ― Thomas Goodwin

***************

It was a whirlwind of a Thursday. Every morning, before my feet touch the floor, I think of at least one thing that I’m thankful for. Being most reluctant to get out of bed, I often have time to linger, thinking of more than one. You should try it. Say it out loud, or repeat it in your mind. It’s the perfect way to start the day.

This morning, I was thankful for the morning sun peeping through my window, the special emails that greet me each morning, the ceiling fan and air conditioning that keeps me comfortable in the terrible Texas heat, and the prospect of getting out for an early morning walk. I popped out of bed before 8am, sun glasses, sunscreen, and a smile. It was already in the upper 80’s, but there was a slight breeze. The cute little duck family at the pond waddled up to say hello. Granted, they probably thought I had some food for them, but I said hello and apologized.


I managed to walk 2.8 miles before rushing home to shower and out the door for my dentist appointment. FINALLY! The last step for the TEN THOUSAND DOLLAR TOOTH! 

This poor tooth first had a crown, then a root canal, then when it still hurt, I was told I needed an extraction and implant with a new crown. Yep! About 10 K for one stinkin’ tooth. 


I’m smiling, but that’s because I finished paying for it on my last charge. I was going to do landscaping this year, instead I got a new tooth.


See, 10K tooth!!!

After my triumphant tooth adventure, I drove over to the square to visit with Miss Kathy and Miss Elizabeth at Sweet Spot. A couple youngsters were eyeing the cookies, cupcakes and ice cream. I asked them if they’d like some ice cream, and of course, they said yes. I know their father, and he was sitting talking to friends, and I knew it would be ok. They were very appreciative. 

After the visit, I drove obverse to Good Year to get my car inspected before my expiration, So I can get my vehicle sticker later.  They said it would be an hour wait. I walked over to Taco Bueno too get an iced tea. I took out $2, and asked the young man for a small drink. He handed me a cup and said, “No charge Mam. It’s just a drink.” Well, that was so nice.


I asked his name. It was Chad. I said, “Thanks Chad. You are bpbery kind.” Then, I thought to myself…hmm…I did something nice, buying the kids ice cream, then, Chad does something nice for me.” Random acts of kindness.

A quick stop at the car wash. I even vacuumed the interior mats. How lucky to have a nice car, all paid for, and the gas tank full? 


My car was ready when I walked back. I stopped at the store on the way home because I was out of ice cream…oh no! 

Look how healthy! Organic spinach and chocolate ice cream. They counter balance each other.


When I got home, I had a little ice cream because I didn’t want that melted part to leak in the freezer. I had to help make room for expansion of the melted ice cream. My personal tradition. 

I went for a long evening walk when the sun started to set and a gentle breeze lessened the heat of the day. My total steps for today…5.7 miles. Pretty darn good for an old lady with a bad knee, bad feet, and a new tooth, on a hot Texas night. While I walked, I thought, “Look at me. I can do anything. I’m aazing.” I’m also very modest. Not! I was rewarded with a glorious sunset.


These are all the things I am thankful for today. That’s a lot! I have so many! That’s just one day! How lucky am I? What about you?


Give it a try. Wake up every day and think of the things you are thankful for. Then, end each day recounting your blessings. You’ll be amazed.

Leave a Reply

