Wednesday:)What’s Cookin’ Miss Toni…Brownies?

10 Aug

“The measuring and mixing always smoothed out her thinking processes – nothing was as calming as creaming butter – and when the kitchen was warm from the oven overheating and the smell of baking chocolate, she took final stock of where she’d been and where she was going. Everything was fine.” ― Jennifer Crusie, Maybe This Time

**************

Yesterday was a busy baking and shaking kinda day. I went to Zumba, (that’s the shaking part), came home and walked about two miles in the scalding Texas heat, took a quick shower, met some friends for lunch, stopped at the Dollar Store, went over to the county office to get my vehicle registration sticker, wrote my blog, baked a batch of awesome brownies, drove over to the historic district for our monthly McKinney Creative Community meeting, arrived home just before dark, went for a very long four mile walk in the dark with my neighbor, called my sister, took another shower, THEN collapsed on the couch with my iPad and several tall glasses of ice water till nearly 2am. Are you exhausted just reading all that? Thank goodness I don’t have a job. That would interfere with my activities a d social life.

But, I do enjoy cooking and baking. I made my special marshmallow/chocolate chip brownies. And, of course, I always make a funny face in the bowl before I stir up the ingredients. When I post the funny face on my Facebook page, it reminds the local artists that our meeting is that evening. Everyone loves my brownies, so it’s a good advertisement for the group.


I’ve been making funny faces in my mixes for many years now. Always a blast, and always a challenge to come up with a different look.

The end result is always yummy.


After I cut the small squares for our meeting,  I took a couple over to my neighbor Diane, because it was her birthday, and a couple to Melody around the corner. It was her birthday too. So many friends. So many birthdays. So many brownies!

Leave a Reply

