Wednesday:) When The Summer Sky Surrenders

17 Aug

“Sunset: When the flaming surrender of the sun bathes the horizon in hues of glorious color.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

Every, and I repeat, every evening reveals a spectacular sunset, whether it be a flaming red sky or a misty layer of billowing clouds. Each is unique. Each is breathtaking. I still can’t understand how someone can look at a sunset or sunrise and not believe in miracles.

Last night, I was driving around an unfamiliar part of north McKinney, looking for a house in Trinity Falls. As usual, I got really, really lost. My half hour excursion turned out to be an hour and forty minute frustrating scenic tour of beautiful rural McKinney. By the time I got home, it was almost dark, so I scooted the car into the garage, grabbed my key, and went for my evening walk. I was determined to march out my directionally impaired frustrations. 

Instead of being upset, I was greeted by the most amazing sunset that seemed to change by the minute. After standing in awe for a few moments, literally breathing in the beauty, I took out my phone and snapped a few pictures. Photos never do the subject justice, but look at these, and imagine a sight twice as colorful and glorious.


Tell me you don’t believe in miracles.

Leave a Reply

