Thankful Thursday:) Saying Thank You

19 Aug

“The best way to say thank you for your blessings is to bless others with a thank you,”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

Yeah! We finally got some rain today! Not a lot of rain, but every little bit helps. The day was gloomy and muggy, almost steamy. I was grateful for the rain, but the heat and humidity made it feel for like a sauna outside.

I went for a morning walk, and by the time I came home, I was so sweaty that I slid in the door and guzzled three glasses of water. Shortly after I got home, I could hear the lawn mowers and leaf blower out my back door. Whenever I’m home, I go out and give the guys who mow my lawn some cold Dr. Peppers and some cookies or if I have any brownies lying around. 

Today, I decided that ice cream bars might be appreciated a little bit more. So, I went out to give them the ice cream, but the last guy had just closed the door and the truck started driving away. Thank goodness I know Spanish. I yelled out, “Espera!” (Wait) The truck came to a halt and one of the men jumped out. He probably thought there was a problem.

I handed him three ice cream bars and said, “Muchas gracias!” (There are always three guys) He had a big smile and said,”Gracias!” and scurried back to the truck. I’m sure the guys appreciated something cold and refreshing on such a muggy day. But, I’d also like to think that they felt good knowing that I appreciate what they do. They work hard, they make my house look nice, and I don’t think very many people ever say thank you.


I am very blessed. I blessed these gentlemen with a thank you and some ice cream on a hot day. Then, I decided to bless myself with an ice cream too. Why not!

Oh, the funny part of the story is, when I flung open the freezer door to grab the ice cream bars, I noticed that the inside of the freezer was all drippy with frost and hanging icicles. When I investigated the problem, turns out that an ice cube had been lodged in the ice dispenser flap and was letting the warm air into the freezer. I needed a spatula to scrape away the ice and frost. It was lucky that I went in there, as I rarely open the freezer door. Who knows what would have happened if left undetected until Friday night when I make my Black Russian with chocolate ice cream. Yikes! 

4 Responses to “Thankful Thursday:) Saying Thank You”

  1. Jolene Kappes August 19, 2016 at 2:25 am #

    I always enjoy your blog, Toni. You never fail to lift my spirits and put a smile on my face.

    • toniandrukaitis August 19, 2016 at 2:31 am #

      Thanks Jolene. There’s always something to be grateful for. I’m so glad we are in touch after all these years. Where did the time go???

  2. Bonita August 19, 2016 at 2:38 am #

    And I thank you my friend!!

Leave a Reply

