Tuesday:) Torn Between the Two

14 Sep

“Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. …live in the question.” 

― Rainer Maria Rilke

****************

 A lazy morning. I didn’t go to Zumba because I’ve had a crink in my neck for days, and didn’t want to mess it up more. I did go for a long walk in the steamy hot morning. 

My big decision for the day was…do I want to go to McKinney Creative Community potluck tonight or go to St. Gabriel’s Women’s Club meeting. They always meet on the same evening, the second Tuesday of the month. I usually opt for MCC, but this was the first women’s club meeting for the year at church. I was thinking that maybe it would be a good opportunity to meet some new people and make new friends. I was torn.

I’ve been in a avant-garde sort of mood of late, so I chose church. Something different.

Then, to add frosting to the proverbial unconventional cupcake, I decided to go get a haircut before the meeting. The girl at Style America did a great job. She took her time and I went straight to church with damp curly hair. Well, it was so hot out, it didn’t stay damp too long.

The first meeting at St. Gabriel’s was pizza, salad and cannoli night. I hadn’t been to a meeting since last year’s Christmas party. I remember because I won the door prize. So, when the raffle tickets were handed out, I barely glanced at my number 927. When the number was called…really? 927! I couldn’t believe it. Out of around 50 women, my number was picked.

When I went to get my prize, I said, “I should come more often. I always win the door prize.” I’m a lucky girl.

Cute flower arrangement, new haircut, nice meeting at church, and I met some new ladies.


As is my tradition, on my way out, I walked into the church, blessed myself with holy water and said a prayer. A prayer for health and happiness for my family and friends. Then, I walked over to light a candle under the painting of St. Joseph the carpenter and his young apprentice, Jesus. A candle for my future granddaughter. 


It’s OK to be torn between two choices now and then. There’s no right or wrong, just a different door to open.


I think you can do both Mr. E.B. White.

Leave a Reply

