Wednesday:) What’s Cookin’ Good Lookin’?

14 Sep

“The best medicine for an ailing friend is a warm hug, food made with love, and a very short visit.”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

My good friend Lynda had surgery a few days ago and is recovering. It must be very frustrating not to be able to move around and take care of yourself. Thank goodness she has wonderful family support and many close friends. A few girlfriends offered to bring by some meals for her on certain days. I’m more of an abstract, unconventional kind of person, so I offered to make a few things that could be popped in the freezer or fridge and used in a pinch.

I figured most people would be bringing dinners, so besides making several containers of pasta, I thought some fruit yogurt parfaits would be good for a fast breakfast or snack. Turns out, Lynda said that was one of her favorites and she was craving fruit. Yay! Perfect!

I started cooking late Monday. Actually it was early Tuesday, around 1 a.m. Before I finished. 

I love to cook, and I never learned to cook small, so this was the perfect opportunity to get carried away. Pasta freezes and reheats well.


For the yogurt parfaits, I used plain Greek yogurt and added a little pure honey. I read the ingredients on the label of the yogurt with honey, and it had pure cane sugar, fructose, and honey and other stuff. I’d rather use just plain old honey. Then, I cut up some grapes and strawberries, layering the ingredients in three tall plastic cups.(Forgot to take a picture of the final product.) 

I dropped of the food yesterday before I went to my St. Gabriel’s Women’s Club meeting. I brought a warm hug, some food made with love, and stayed just for a very short visit. She looks good and in good spirits.

Lynda texted me this morning to thank me for the pasta and parfaits. She even sent me a picture of her enjoying her breakfast. Gee, I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing it with a few hundred of my best closest personal friends on the Internet? 


She is just too cute not to share. Feel better. Love you!

4 Responses to “Wednesday:) What’s Cookin’ Good Lookin’?”

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap September 15, 2016 at 12:00 am #

    That was so sweet of you to make the food for your friend and that fruit parfait looks yummy.

    • toniandrukaitis September 15, 2016 at 2:26 am #

      Thank you, that’s what friends are for. I have been blessed with many who would do the same for me, and have.

  2. bridgetisichei September 15, 2016 at 1:14 am #

    That looks delicious!

    • toniandrukaitis September 15, 2016 at 2:25 am #

      Why thank you. It’s always fun to cook for friends, especially when they are in need.

Leave a Reply

