Saturday:) Somethin’s Cookin’

18 Sep

Pursue your passion and live your best life.” ― Lailah Gifty Akit

**************

I’ve mentioned before that I have a Master’s Degree in Procrastination. It took me over six decades to achieve such a goal, but needless to say, I put it off many times. All kidding aside, I’ve been wanting to paint some wine glasses for a couple of months, but always had an excuse not to start. I need a five or six hour window to sit and paint focused and undisturbed.

Painting on glass is one of my passions. It is immediate gratification. Everyone loves the final product. What’s not to like? Wine glasses and vases are beautiful and utilitarian, making perfect gifts and decorative displays.

Once I decided to start, I set up all my supplies, turned on the tv upstairs, half-watched-listened to five or six episodes of “Murder She Wrote,” and painted until I finished painting a dozen long stemmed wine glasses.


I let them dry/cure at least twenty-four hours, then bake in a cold oven at 350 for 30 minutes, leaving undisturbed for at least four hours.


They turned out great, if I don’t say so myself…and I do.

I also gave a second coat to one of my favorite winter vases.


I am very blessed to be able to do what I love. I love making beautiful things, teaching others to make beautiful things, and I’ve made a beautiful life for myself. I also like to think that I’ll leave the world a little bit more beautiful than I found it.

One Response to “Saturday:) Somethin’s Cookin’”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham September 19, 2016 at 5:26 pm #

    Gorgeous one and all, but the vase reminds me of my aunt. I love it!!

Leave a Reply

