Sunday Sermon and Something Spiritual

19 Sep

“God puts many people in your path, but ultimately, you are the only one who can choose which path to follow.”

Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

********************

We had a doozie of a downpour this morning around 6:30 a.m. My alarm was set for 7, but I actually reached over to change it to 7:30, thinking that if it’s still storming, I’ll wait to go to a later Mass instead of my usual greeting before 9 o’clock Mass. 

As luck would have it, the storm passed quickly, and by 8:00 it was already warm and sunny. So, off I went.

Today’s Gospel was about the steward who squandered his rich master’s money. He decided, since he was being fired, that he would go to the rich man’s debtors, and renegotiate their debt, giving them a lesser payment. This way, the debtors would be happy and the steward would be in their good graces if he needed their help. Then, the rich man heard this, and instead of being angry, he commended the steward. That was the confusing part.

My take on it, with a little insight from the Loyola Press is… Even if you make some bad mistakes, you have to look to the future. You try and make things right. At the end it said, you cannot serve two masters. If money and greed are your master, you can’t expect to serve God. 

********

After Mass, I usually meet Mr. Jerry, who sits behind me, over at McDonald’s for coffee, but he was on vacation. I decided to scoot over to Walmart to get one of those big bouncy exercise balls, so I can sit and bounce and watch tv. While I was in the produce aisle, I bumped into a lady I saw at church. I said, “Hi, I saw you at Mass this morning.” She smiled and complimented me on my red shirt, and I told her that I loved her pretty blouse. We shook hands, introduced ourselves, then parted with a quick, “See you next Sunday.”

A good forty-five minutes later, I was deciding which check-out lane to try when I bumped into Rose-Marie again. This time we stopped to chat. She asked where I lived and if I went to evening adoration. We decided to exchange phone numbers and said that maybe we could meet sometime for coffee. I told her that I was an artist and writer, and I wrote a daily blog, just about people and places around town. I got out my phone and said, “Selfie time.” She just giggled, a little embarrassed, and I said, “Unless you’re in witness protection, I hope it’s ok to take a picture and write about our meeting.”

I went on to tell Rose-Marie that I’ve found that God puts interesting people in my path, and perhaps we were meant to meet on this nice sunny Sunday.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take more than one quick pictures, so you can’t see her big gorgeous dark eyes.

As we got to talking, my new friend shared that she was a charismatic. I wasn’t quite sure what that meant, but she explained that God has blessed her with the gift of sharing his words. She talks to people and God tells her what to tell them. Not like a psychic or anything like that. But, I do believe that some people have gifts and powers that can’t be explained. Anything is possible.

She looked right into my eyes and said, “God tells me that you are a very loving and giving person. You share your joy with many people. You have a special light.” Well, gosh. I already knew that…just kidding. But, it’s easy to see that. I always smile and laugh and talk to strangers. That’s my personality. 

Now, here’s  the strange spiritual part. She continued to compliment me about all my attributes as I smiled and then she said, “But, God wants you not to worry so much about the past. You need to move forward. He has great plans for you.” 

Oh my, tears started to form in my eyes. Why did this almost total stranger, who only saw a cheery smiling woman in a bright red shirt in the produce aisle at Walmart, why did she say, God wants you not worry about the past?” Yes, as my sister said, this could apply to half the population, but I truly believe that our paths were meant to cross and she was there to tell me something. AND! It really doesn’t matter if it is a fact, it’s what I believe and what she believes that makes it true. Before we parted our separate ways, we hugged in the middle of Walmart and promised to keep in touch. 

Anyway, I just thought that was an interesting story of fate, kismet, destiny, or whatever you want to call it. Maybe God was telling me that I have something good to look forward to, and not to dwell on on my past and my pain. I’ve been trying to do that, but a little shove in the right direction is always helpful.

There are many paths and many people to meet along the way. I hope I get a chance to spend more time with and get to know Miss Rose-Marie.

8 Responses to “Sunday Sermon and Something Spiritual”

  1. Bonita September 19, 2016 at 2:44 pm #

    U had such a wonderful time w/u new friend…look forward girl, cause the best is yet to come!

    • toniandrukaitis September 19, 2016 at 3:02 pm #

      Thank you, my friend. I think so too. Actually, I know so. Wes till need to get together for lunch or a visit sometime and catch up. Just you and me and a cup of tea…or a Black Russian…

  2. Brenda Davis Harsham September 19, 2016 at 5:24 pm #

    What a wonderful story. How can you not have good things to look forward to? You are a source of light and joy in the world. XOXO

    • toniandrukaitis September 20, 2016 at 8:28 pm #

      Thank you Miss Brenda. I appreciate that. You are sweet and bring a lot of light and joy yourself with your beautiful poems and stories and friendship.

  3. Mary September 20, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

    I just love it when God uses another (who doesn’t know me) to speak words of life and encouragement! It’s such a great reminder that God cares for us and hears our heart!

    • toniandrukaitis September 20, 2016 at 8:31 pm #

      Thank you Mary. God certainly has been a strong shoulder to lean on, especially the past few years. He’s always there for all of us.

      • Mary September 21, 2016 at 4:57 pm #

        He is faithful!!!! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

