Tuesday:) Taking Chances, Too Many Choices

5 Oct

“Sometimes you just have to close your eyes, reach in, and take a chance. Literally!”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

I love to cook, and I love to go out to eat, making it difficult to keep up with leftovers. When I go out for lunch or dinner with friends, it never fails, there always seems to be a doggie bag that goes home with me. I don’t have a doggie. After a day or two, the bags and containers find their way into the freezer. When I cook, I usually cook enough to feed a small military base. A few containers get dispersed to neighbors and friends, but the rest…yes…finds their way to the freezer.

Tuesday is usually my day to take chances. If I don’t go out to lunch, I open the jammed-packed-popping-off the shelves fall out on your feet freezer to find something for dinner.


I make it a game of chance by closing my eyes, reaching in, and hoping for the best. Sometimes it’s pizza or eggplant Parmesan, and other times it’s chocolate ice cream or homemade cookie dough. I like ice cream days.

Today, I pulled out a container of potatoe penne pasta. Sounds weird, but a few months back, I had made some yummy potatoe soup and had left over penne, so I combined the two.


Oh, I was soooo close to the Blue Bell chocolate ice cream. Darn!


I also have a habit of cleaning and reusing my many empty yogurt containers to store leftovers. This way, if I give away food, I don’t have to worry about getting my containers back. Smart, right? Frugal and smart…that’s me.

I warmed up the penne, added some cheese, and it was a fantastic dinner. 

Sometimes you just have to close your eyes, reach in, and take a chance. You might be pleasantly surprised.


2 Responses to “Tuesday:) Taking Chances, Too Many Choices”

  1. Bonita October 5, 2016 at 3:03 am #

    I smile every time I read u blog…now u made me hungry!!!

    • toniandrukaitis October 5, 2016 at 3:17 am #

      Why thank you. Maybe you can come and help me eat some of those leftovers.

Leave a Reply

