Friday Friends, a Feast, and Forgetful Me

8 Oct

The advantage of a bad memory is that one enjoys several times the same good things for the first time.” ― Friedrich Nietzsche

*****************

It’s Fiday again. The days just stumble and rumble by. But, the first Friday of the month, I go over to Towne Creek for our senior art group. Today, we were celebrating Miss Bonnie’s birthday. I got up early to get my walk in, then go to the store for a birthday cake, ice cream and more snacks. I went to the store yesterday and got most of the fixin’s, but I wanted to get a fresh cake today. Plus, I forgot the potatoes for the potatoe soup I was going to make.

I made a grocery list, but forgot it on the kitchen counter. Guess what? I came home without the potatoes…again. I picked up a Snickers cake and Snickers ice cream for the birthday, and some gelato for me. When I got home and realized I forgot the potatoes, I sampled the gelato to drown my sorrows. Here’s the note left on the counter.


Instead, I made a tamale casserole to go with the hot dogs and chips. I’d already started the veggies for the potatoe soup, so I took the note and taped it on my car dash so I could pick them up on my way home.


Here’s the fixin’s for the feast.


When I got to Towne Creek, we worked on some watercolor techniques using side loading and double loading of watercolor. Then, time for the birthday party feast, cake and ice cream.



We had a nice celebration. We cleaned up our mess, did the dishes, and I packed up and was out the door by 6:15. I stopped at Walmart on my way home to fill up the gas tank and…yes…pick up some potatoes. I remembered. Yay! The big ol’note on my dash board may have had something to do with it. I have been known to put post it notes on my shirt. 

It ain’t easy getting old!

I got home in time to catch another amazing sunset. My life is full and splashing over with glorious color…from sunrise to sunset.

Leave a Reply

