Saturday:) Something Old, Something New

9 Oct

“The older I grow, the more I distrust the familiar doctrine that age brings wisdom.” ― H.L. Mencken

*************

As I’ve gotten older, it seems like my bucket list has gotten longer. Either that, or my bucket has gotten bigger. Yes, I have a big bucket. Pun intended.

Today, while I was perusing my Facebook page, I was greeted with memories from the past years. I smiled when I saw what I did one year ago today. There was a picture of me and my dear friend, Sherri Murphy, at the State Fair of Texas. Why this was so heartwarming was because I’d never been to a state fair, and that was one of the things on my bucket list. I remember seeing that old movie “State Fair” with Pat Boone and Ann Margaret, and loved the thought of going to the fair. And yes, I’m that old. When Sherri found out that I’d never been to the fair she said, “Girl, we’re goin’ to the fair!” So, off we went.

I love that my friends know what a scaredy cat I am about driving to unfamiliar places and doing new things, so Sherri picked me and led me around the fair like a five year old with big eyes and a gaping mouth. She asked what I wanted to do, and after thinking a minute I said, “Eat a lot of fried stuff, get a picture with Big Tex, and ride some rides.”


Eating a lot of fried stuff.


A picture with Big Tex.


Sheri and I rode this mild looking ride, only to discover that it started off slowly then went so fast, sideways, and nearly upside down, that I literally thought I was going to get flung out and plummet to my untimely death. Well, glad I got that checked off my bucket list ’cause I ain’t doin’ that again. (I took this picture of Sherri behind me before the ride started whirling into outer space.) 


Then, of course, you have to see the cute animals and the giant butter sculptures.

“The older I grow, the more I distrust the familiar doctrine that age brings wisdom.” 

― H.L. Mencken

As I grow older, I certainly have not gotten any wiser…but I am willing to learn new things and go to new and exciting places, and keep checking off items on my big ol’ bucket list.


One Response to “Saturday:) Something Old, Something New”

  1. Bonita October 9, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

    I agree however my problem in “remembering” the wisdom…or better yet, where I put it…probably w/my keys!

Leave a Reply

