Tuesday:) Tell Me, Teach Me, Involve Me

12 Oct

Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.” ― Benjamin Franklin

*****************

Today, I was invited to sit in on Jim’s OLLI lecture, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, at the Stillwater library. Lectures for adults, retirees, and seniors. There were about fifty people in the room. The topic was Early Colonization of America. There were familiar names and pictures presented, like Isabella and Ferdinand, Columbus, King James, Queen Elizabeth, etc., but putting all the history, obscure facts, dates, and background in an interesting format, made it very stimulating. It was an interesting two hour session with a ten minute cookie/coffee/bathroom break in the middle. Seniors eat a lot of cookies.

Dr. Jim had to rush off to Langston University to teach his first history class, so I wandered around the library a few minites, then mozied across the parking lot to the Multi Arts Center. It’s a nonprofit city operated facility, offering a multitude of classes from stained glass to pottery, with an artist gallery to sell their work. Wonderful facility. I wish we had something like this in McKinney.

I bumped into a lady who had been at the library lecture earlier. She was there to look for Christmas gifts, because she said they had some beautiful handcrafted items. I asked her if she was an artist, and she giggled like it was a joke. She proclaimed that she had no artistic talent, but in the next breath, she said she was an avid quilter. Oh my, that is an amazing gift. I always say that I can’t sew worth a stitch, and that’s true. But, not because I don’t  have the talent, but it’s just not my passion. I truly believe if I gave it a try, took some classes and learned some tips, I could be a great quilter. The same could be said of anyone trying a new craft or art form. The key word is “TRY.”

There are a lot of fun, educational, and not too expensive learning venues available out there, especially to us “older folks.” I know that I’ve been a “Capricorn” type of person most my life, (feet firmly on the ground) but lately I’ve been trying new things and spreading my wings. You’re never too old to learn something new. 

P.S. All that learning, art work, and brain activity made me hungry. I turned on my google maps on my phone, hopped in my car, and found the nearest McDonalds. 


Ice cream! Some things Don’t change.

Leave a Reply

