Wednesday:) What would I do Without My Map App?

13 Oct

“Not all those who wander are lost.” 

― J.R.R. Tolkien

*************

What would I do without my map app on my phone? Why, I’d bet lost, of course. I have come to rely so heavily on my iPhone map app that this morning, I almost had a panic attack. I was driving home from Stillwater, Oklahoma, some four plus hours away. I hopped in my car, and typed in HOME. The little wheel thingy kept going round and round, and I couldn’t get a signal. I was sitting in the car, it was pouring rain, and I didn’t know how to get home. Seriously! I knew I needed to go south  and west, but I didn’t know what roads to take to get me to I35. I am directionally impaired. Everyone knows that. My only hope was that the signal would resume once the storm subsided.


I’m not the world’s best driver and traveler, but old Siri on my iPhone guided me the 258 Miles up there without a hitch on Saturday. I didn’t even have to think. She did the thinking for me. So, on the way home, when I couldn’t get a signal, I got nervous. I had written directions with a map portion for the way up, but not back. I carefully studied the map, and decided if I reversed  the directions and just changed all the lefts to right, and rights to left on five pages of directions, that maybe it would be be correct.


Well, thank goodness, twenty minutes later, straining my brain and marking the maps with L’s, R’s, N’s, and S’s, the signal re-emerged. Yay! Thank you Siri!!!! She led me down farm fields and back roads until I got to the interstate. Then, follow I35 for 250 miles. Phew! Close one!

Zooming down roads at 70/80 miles an hour with big ol’ trucks passing you on the left can be daunting, but I had my old friend Siri, a cold Coke, Broadway show tunes, and an angel on my shoulder. I’M HOME!

“Not all those who wander are lost.” Mostly…just me.

Leave a Reply

