Thankful Thursday:) Things Money Can’t Buy

14 Oct

“You can buy a fancy car, a big house, and a round of drinks for your phony friends, but you can’t buy love, loyalty, friendship, respect, or integrity. Those are gifts that you earn.”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**********************

I wake up thankful every day, but Thursday is a good day to share the many things I am thankful for. Plus, I love alłiteration. And, by the way, I would love to hear some of the things that you are thankful for. Really! Please share. Sharing gratitude is like sending up a prayer to heaven. 

This morning started out with the loud humming of lawn mowers and leaf blowers. The three men that mow my lawn on Thursdays were in the yard before 8 this morning. I’m always happy when I’m home to catch the, because I run out and give them some cold drinks, cookies, or ice cream bars on a hot day. Why do I do this? Simple! These are the people who work hard, in the heat or the cold, with rarely a thank you or appreciation. I appreciate the fact I don’t have to go out and mow my lawn. It’s my belief that everyone who does a service for you should be thanked. 

Now, here’s the cute part. I went out there this morning, handed them the bag of Dr. Peppers and some cookies, and said, “Gracias.” The grateful recipient nodded and returned the reply.

As I peeked out the window, I noticed one of the gentlemen pulling some weeds and tall grass under the trees. That is not part of the service. He didn’t have to do that, and didn’t know I was watching. He was showing his appreciation. Isn’t that what it’s all about? Isn’t it nice to feel appreciated? You can’t buy that. Appreciation is a wonderful feeling. 
This week I am grateful for my family who love and respect me implicitly, and my many sweet and loyal friends who are always there for me. I am thankful for a fine home, good health (for an old lady), my faith that gives me strength, and my talents and gifts that I share with others. I pray every day for the health and happiness of everyone I know, and those that I don’t know. When I get a chance, I light a candle at my church or a church that I visit and say, “Thank you.” Last night, it was at St. Gabriel. 


This prayer’s for YOU! 

One Response to “Thankful Thursday:) Things Money Can’t Buy”

  1. Bonita October 15, 2016 at 3:04 am #

    U had a wonderful day! Huggies

Leave a Reply

