Saturday Surprises

16 Oct

“Our brightest blazes of gladness are commonly kindled by unexpected sparks.” ― Samuel Johnson

**************

It was nice to sleep in this morning, no alarm set, no agenda. I called Mom and headed out for my morning walk. As I rounded the park, I noticed a bunch of kids running around and a little train scooting through the park. I stopped and asked one of the moms what was going on, she said it was the neighborhood HOA fall festival. They had face painters, popcorn, candy, and the kids had costumes on. When I sat to watch, I was enlisted to be a judge for the Halloween costume. A nice surprise.



Here was our first place choice. An adorable Minnie Mouse.


Second place was a pretty pirate girl.

I sat with some neighbors and chatted a while, snacking on some popcorn. Then, off to finish my walk. It was already getting warm. I came home, contemplating what I’d have for lunch and how to waste the rest of my day. I decided maybe a trip to Michaels, a little craft shopping always makes for a fun day. 

As I was checking emails, my phone pinged with a text. It was my friend…and world’s finest realtor (plug), Linda Grossman. She asked what I was doing, and I replied, just sitting around. She asked if I wanted to go to Tupps Brewery for a beer. Well, what a nice surprise! Tupps is a local brewery with live music, tours, and today they were having a chili cook-off. 


Maylee Thomas and George Fuller performed. It was a fun venue. 


We tried five or six different chili samples. By now I’d already had two beers, one too many for me. It was a great afternoon and evening. 

I told Linda, it never fails, when I start thinking what I should do on a lazy Saturday, and wish that someone would call, someone calls. It’s like I manifest it. It’s so cool. Such a nice surprise!


Then, my evening walk surprised me with a misty glowing full moon. Lucky me. Amazing!

2 Responses to “Saturday Surprises”

  1. Bonita October 16, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

    Great day for you😘

  2. agriffith1 October 19, 2016 at 4:07 am #

    A brewery? How cool. With Music? All the better.

Leave a Reply

