Wednesday:) Why, What a Wonderful Compliment!

19 Oct

“It is a great mistake for men to give up paying compliments, for when they give up saying what is charming, they give up thinking what is charming.” 

― Oscar Wilde

***********

You are reading this right now, aren’t you? I’d just like to say, “Thank you and you are wonderful.” Really, you are. You are taking the time to read the daily ramblings of an aging self-proclaimed healing optimist. You are the best part of my journey. You are amazing…but then again, so am I. We are amazing! (That’s for Mom)

I’ve mentioned many times that I enjoy giving people compliments because it makes them feel good. They are always honest and sincere compliments like, that color is perfect for you or I love your blouse, or what an adorable baby. All honest compliments, and it costs nothing to share.

But, you know what’s even better than giving a kind compliment? Yes, you guessed it, receiving a wonderful compliment.

I was running around all day today, feeding and walking Bella, doing laundry, taking a long walk, cleaning bathrooms, then running over to Michael’s and Joann Fabrics. I bought a bunch of things on sale at Michael’s that I really didn’t need,  because I am a crafter, and that’s what we do. When I was looking on my phone for different coupon offers, I noticed that Joann’s had an additional 20% for seniors today only. Woo hoo! Right up my alley. Plus, you only have to be 55 years or older. I’ve got that more than covered.


I was buying a bunch of glass paint for painting my wine glasses and vases, because the paint rarely goes on sale, and 20% off is pretty good. But, please don’t ask me why I needed ten pounds of air dry clay. I’m a crafter. I may want to make some more crucifixes for my cross collection. Or not?

Now, here’s the cute part. I used my 40% off one regular priced item for my clay, but then I asked the gal, “Today is senior discount day, right?” She said, “Yes, but you’re not a senior. You have to be 55 or older.” AND… She was dead serious. I said, “Seriously? You don’t think I’m a senior? I’m 63.” She looked at me again and said, “You’re kidding!” She really wasn’t joking.

That’s when I professed my undying love and devotion to this kind woman at the counter of Joann’s. But, I did ask her how old she thought I might be, and she said maybe late 40’s-early 50’s. I couldn’t quite reach behind the counter to give her a big hug, but I did tell her that she just made my day. Then, of course, I whipped out my phone and said, “I’ve got to get a picture and blog about this today.”


This is the very kind and perhaps far-sighted Miss Donna. Well, she does wear glasses. Maybe they were all smudged up. Actually, it was a very nice compliment, and I’m going to run with that.

Have a great Wednesday, my friends. You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

