Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff

23 Oct

“Heroes are heroic no matter if everybody is watching them or nobody watching them.” ― Amit Kalantri

************

A beautiful Sunday. I actually got to wear a warm sweater for church this morning. Yay! There were also two baptisms during the service. Good Gospel today.



Gospel LK 18:9-14
Jesus addressed this parable

to those who were convinced of their own righteousness

and despised everyone else. 

“Two people went up to the temple area to pray;

one was a Pharisee and the other was a tax collector. 

The Pharisee took up his position and spoke this prayer to himself,

‘O God, I thank you that I am not like the rest of humanity —

greedy, dishonest, adulterous — or even like this tax collector. 

I fast twice a week, and I pay tithes on my whole income.’

But the tax collector stood off at a distance

and would not even raise his eyes to heaven

but beat his breast and prayed,

‘O God, be merciful to me a sinner.’

I tell you, the latter went home justified, not the former;

for whoever exalts himself will be humbled,

and the one who humbles himself will be exalted.”

****************

My take on it…those people that do supposedly goodthings, offer charity, show up to church or events only to be seen, and look down on other people, those people are phonies. If no one was looking or taking note, they wouldn’t do it. 

I knew someone once…for a long time, that always liked to pick up the tab for drinks or dinner wherever he went, and act like a big shot. He never did things unless someone was watching, patting him on the back. He would chastise others for taking cookies to firemen because they already get paid plenty. He constantly talked ill of friends and family behind their backs. These people called him friend or family, or brother or uncle, but he joked about them and had derogatory comments about them. But, to their faces he was sweet as pie. He smiled and spoke, and only lies came out. Do you know someone like that? I think everyone does. Sometimes God blesses us and removes those toxic people from your life.

So, the Gospel teaches us to be humble and not exalt ourselves. Be honest and true at all times. Pretending to be good and honest doesn’t make you good and honest.

******************

After Mass, I went to McDonald’s with friends from church, then home to change and go for a long walk. It’s a gorgeous fall day. I visited with Miss Kathy across the street, and when I came home perplexed as what to fix myself for dinner, I got a text from Linda Grossman, (world’s best realtor and good friend) who asked if I wanted to get some dinner. Problem solved. We went out and watched the Cubs game last night too, so my weekend has been busy, good, and fun.


A good Sunday! Happy Sunday! I’m cutting this short here. I’m going to go out and have a margarita. Olé!

Leave a Reply

