Wednesday:) Wiggly Worms Warrant A Wittle Wespect Too.

26 Oct

“Look at the worms, Eric. See how they glow with life? Like jewels! Aren’t even the smallest lives beautiful?” ― Tim W. Burke, The Flesh Sutra

*************

Forgive the alliteration. I was in a silly Elmer Fudd kinda mood today. Sleep deprivation will do that to you sometimes.


I did get about five hours sleep last night, so that’s better than the zero hours the night before. So, things are looking up. It was a beautiful morning for a long walk, already getting warm, the sun was out, and the skies were clear. 


My walking time is my thinking time, and there’s always something rattling around in that old brain of mind. But, my friends the butterflies and dragonflies fluttered by, greeting me as I walked. I smiled and returned the greeting. As I was crossing the street, I saw a long wiggly worm slithering around on the dry gritty road. It pained me to see his hindered movement, knarled and struggling, covered in dust and dirt.

I’m still a bit of a girlie girl, and can’t just go over and pick up a wiggly worm. So, I looked around and found a couple of dried leaves and attempted a rescue. My slimy friend panicked and protested at first, coiling and writhing, but I actually said, “It’s okay, I just want to put you in the cool grass. I’m not going to hurt you.” ( I do talk to creatures. And NO, they don’t talk back…well, sometimes…but they just send me thoughts. But, that’s another story.)

After he calmed down, he slowly slithered onto one of the leaves, then I scooted the rest of him  up with the other leaf. I carefully walked him over to the nearby grass, where he calmly rested, safe and out of the Texas afternoon heat. 



Doesn’t he look much happier now? Every creature deserves a helping hand now and then, not to mention a little respect. ALL CREATURES.

This is not the first time I’ve rescued a wiggly worm, and it won’t be the last. Call me silly…many do. It just makes me feel good.


“Look at the worms, Eric. See how they glow with life? Like jewels! Aren’t even the smallest lives beautiful?” 

― Tim W. Burke, The Flesh Sutra

Leave a Reply

