Monday:) Monsters, Mobsters and a Montage

1 Nov

“The farther we’ve gotten from the magic and mystery of our past, the more we’ve come to need Halloween.” ― Paula Guran

***********

I’ve always loved Halloween. It was fun when I was a kid, it was fun when I took my own kids out, and it’s fun to see the little ones now that I’m an old lady. (I’m not that old, and I’d love to go trick or treating again. I just shouldn’t be eating all that candy anymore.)

It was an absolute perfect day for Halloween here in McKinney. I remember some frigid Chicago Halloween excursions when I’d have to bundle the kids up in hooded jackets with their costume on top. Tonight, the temps were in the upper 70’s. 

Now, here’s the sad part. Hardly any kids came out this year. I thought for sure with perfect weather and so many young families, that it would be crazy busy. I probably only had 30 kids in total. Sad! This is a fun childhood tradition. I heard one youngster ask his mom, “Can we go home now?” That’s just sad. 

I sat outside in my chair and took my painting project out with me to work on between the throngs of kids,..that never arrived. The good news is I got a lot of painting done.


Miss Sandy and Mr. Larry  were out in front of their house pretty early. They told me their dog Wolf wanted to dress up as a chihuahua, but his costume didn’t fit.


While I sat outside and painted and waited, I thought about how much things have changed since I was a kid and when my kids were little.  I hope all this technology and instant gratification hasn’t taken the fun out of being a kid.


Happy Halloween! I’ve got a ton of leftover candy if you want to come over and O.D. On sugar.


Montage Monday. A week in a peek. Go CUBS!

Leave a Reply

