Sunday Sermon, a Sunset, and Other Stuff

7 Nov

Franz Kafka

“Even if no salvation should come, I want to be worthy of it at every moment.” 

― Franz Kafka

**********

Sunday morning was cool and cloudy. The parishioners of St. Gabriel’s scurried through the doors after a long walk through the parking lots still under construction.


The Gospel today was the story of Jesus being asked about the resurrection and marriage. According to Moses, if a man dies without a child, his brother should marry her. A woman was married, her husband died, and his brother married her, then he died, and this continued through seven brothers. Then the wife died. Jesus was asked, at the resurrection, whose wife will the woman be. Jesus explained that all are children of God and basically all angels.

My take on it…first of all…the Gospel is very serious, but I’ll admit, I giggled to myself for a minute. Is that sacrilege? Maybe just Catholic guilt. I thought to myself,  I don’t have to worry about bumping into my husband, now ex-husband, up in heaven. He won’t be there to bump into. I felt a little guilty for thinking that, but still I was being honest and amused at the same time. So, my take on it is…perhaps heaven is only happiness, love, and joy, with no boundaries, ownership, or relationships. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. But, you won’t have to worry about bumping into bad people.

Gospel LK 20:27-38
Some Sadducees, those who deny that there is a resurrection,

came forward and put this question to Jesus, saying,

“Teacher, Moses wrote for us,

If someone’s brother dies leaving a wife but no child,

his brother must take the wife

and raise up descendants for his brother…

********************

After Mass, I stopped at McDonald’s and chatted with my friend, Gil, then off to the store. Albertson’s had canned goods on sale, just in time for all the Thanksgiving food drives. I came home and went for a drizzly walk. My umbrella came in handy, so my walk was short lived. I stopped and visited with my neighbor’s on the corner and finished watching the Cowboys’ win. 

Later, after about an hour of sitting at home, checking emails and fooling around on Facebook, the rain stopped, so off for the rest of my walk. I was rewarded with a beautiful sunset.


Sometimes I look at the glorious sunsets and imagine that perhaps this is what heaven might look like.

One Response to “Sunday Sermon, a Sunset, and Other Stuff”

  1. Bonita November 7, 2016 at 4:02 am #

    Nice seeing u my friend!

Leave a Reply

