Tuesday:) Toni’s Tip of the Day~ Patience and Procrastination 

9 Nov

“Patience and a prayer can fix most problems.”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

***************

“Never trouble another for what you can do for yourself.”

~ Thomas Jefferson

***************

I consider myself a pretty patient person. That concept tends to go along with my tendency to procrastinate. Things can wait, I’ll get to it eventually, I am patient, so it will get done. 

My garage door has been acting up for a couple of months. It won’t close with the remote control, but it will close if I stand there and depress the panel inside the garage by the door, and keep it held down until it closes. The bad part is, I have to back up my car, run inside the garage, hold down the button until totally closed, go out the front door, and lock the house with my key. I’ve been doing that for quite a while, and it’s a pain in the…

When it first happened, I thought something was jammed. I looked everything over, and didn’t see anything. I tried adjusting the sensors. Maybe they were off kilter, or maybe something was blocking the signal. Still not working. I kept saying I was going to call Mr. Bob, the handyman. He can fix anything, but I kept procrastinating. What’s a little more exercise, running back into the garage, holding down the button, running out the front door, locking up, and hopping back into the car? Well, winter is coming. That won’t be fun.

My months of patient procrastination finally paid off. Today, I decided to give it one more shot. I went over to both of the sensors on the base of the garage door, and wiggled, wiped, cajoled, and said a couple of “Our Fathers.” I moved some nearby wood that might have been in the way. I swept away cobwebs, leaves and yucky stuff from the area, then checked the light beams. The light seemed to be working ok. Hmmm?


As I walked towards the door to push the button, finishing up the…”and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil,” I really didn’t think it was going to work…but it did.

I just tapped the button, didn’t hold it down, and the garage closed. Yippee! I did it my self! I fixed the door and didn’t have to call Mr. Bob. (I am AMAZING- inside joke)

Now, I’m not sure if it was the physical adjustment of the beams, or sweeping away the dirt and webs that may have blocked the signal, or moving that piece of wood, or just plain ol’ patience. But, now I’m starting to think that maybe it was the prayer that fixed the problem. 

“Patience and a prayer can fix most problems.”

Leave a Reply

