Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom

10 Nov

“Some people believe holding on and hanging in there are signs of great strength. However, there are times when it takes much more strength to know when to let go and then do it.” 

― Ann Landers

***********

I seriously thought that after all the election hoopla and hysteria were over, that today we could all get back to normal, back to living. Well, I was wrong. 

After staying up till the wee hours of the morning to watch the final election results, I was pretty exhausted. But, I thought to myself, “Thank goodness it’s over.” Whether your candidate won or lost, it’s done, over, finito. The country made a decision and we have to abide by our democratic process. Not everyone has that luxury. 

When I finally got up this morning, nothing had changed. The world was still spinning on its axis, and I felt blessed to open my eyes, in my own bed, in my own house, and in the greatest country in the world. But, all I saw on TV or heard on the radio, was rehashing, moaning, complaining, protests, gloating, and people afraid for their country. When I looked at Facebook this morning, instead of happy puppies and recipes for Christmas cookies, there were cuss words, fearful messages, disappointment, anger, and confusion, all mixed in with an occasional smiley face or hopeful promise for a better country.

America has spoken, and we don’t have to agree, we just have to move forward. Personally, I’m exhausted from seeing all the angry people and reading all the mean messages. If you voted, you had your say. If you didn’t vote, you have no say. The election is over. Now it’s time to let go, no more whining, no more gloating, just living. (Personally, I’ll be praying.) THE END

One Response to “Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom”

  1. Jolene Kappes November 10, 2016 at 3:40 pm #

    The winner of this election sowed fear. The fear he evoked is legitimate. School children are fearful that their families will be targeted, separated, even murdered. We cannot “just go on.” Those of us who value our families, friends, neighbors, our environment, and world peace should not just go on. Now is the time to speak up louder than ever for those who have been publicly and specifically threatened from a national stage in our wonderful country.

Leave a Reply

