Tuesday:) Tough Girls Can Take It

16 Nov

“Everything is within your power,and your power is within you.” 

― Janice Trachtman, Catching What Life Throws at You

****************

This morning started out like every other morning. I got my weary bottom out of bed at 7 a.m., after staying up pretty late painting my annual ornaments. (Miles to go before I rest.) I took little Bella for a walk around the pond before running off to the Y for my 8:30 Zumba class. I love Zumba. When I got home, I grabbed Bella’s blanket and leash, then walked her back home to Mr. Mike. I doggie sit when he’s busy or out of town.

My daily walks and Zumba classes are very important to me. But, here’s the thing. I have osteoperosis and arthritis, with a bad right knee to boot. But, I get up every day, rain or shine, and get out there and walk. Why? Because it’s good for me. I may limp along the first couple blocks, but then the knee loosens up, and it gets easier. The doctor says that exercise is the best thing, so I walk.

Well, the last few weeks, the knee pain has gotten worse, so I made an appointment for another knee injection. The big ol’ needle is kinda scary, but I’m a tough girl. That, and I just look the other way during the actual procedure. Dr. Bridwell is a great doctor. He asked if it hurt last time, and I said, ” Oh yah, but I’m tough and have a pretty good pain threshold.” 

That’s when I looked away, but managed to take a picture. As I winced and let out a slight whimper, I said, “I’m so blogging about this today.” Dr. Bridwell smiled and said, “I hope you have nice things to say after this.” I assured him that I had nothing but wonderful things to say about him and OSM Orthopedics.


Life isn’t easy. I sure find that out the hard way. But, I don’t give up, I don’t give in, because I’m one tough old broad. 


Time to relax with a cup of tea. And when the going gets tough, the tough…take a nap.


Leave a Reply

