Saturday:) Sitting Around Sipping Some Beer

20 Nov

Someone is sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago. Warren Buffett************

My Saturdays can be crazy busy or crazy lazy. Today was a crazy lazy day. Of course, I still had to get my daily walks in, but that doesn’t count. Then there’s the crazy weather. Just a few days ago it was in the 80’s, and today it was pretty chilly.


I went for a walk around noon. I walked for about half an hour, then all of a sudden, I started feeling queasy. I was about two blocks from home when I seriously thought to myself, “If I have to puke, do I lean over and spew on a neighbor’s lawn or do I try to  make it to the street curb?” Silly, right? Fortunately, I didn’t have to make that decision. I made it home, drank a glass of ice water, and took a short nap. All better! I think it was just running around on an empty stomach. 

Because I had cut my first walk short, I ventured out for another walk before sunset. I managed to get several blocks in before passing the open garage door with Mr. Larry and Miss Sandy sitting, waiting for me. “Well, there she is!” I heard from the garage. I made my way up the drive way, said my hello, then opened the fridge, grabbed a beer, and plopped in the third chair that is always there waiting for me. Their big ol’ dog, Wolf, was happy to see me too. We sat and chatted until almost dark. 


You know what life is all about? It’s not about being rich or driving fancy cars or big expexpensive houses. It’s about friends and family and enjoying the simple things. It’s all about strolling up  your neighbor’s driveway and helping yourself to a beer. It’s about small talk in a cluttered garage, just watching the world go by in slow motion. It’s about people smiling when they see you, and knowing that you can make people smile.


Leave a Reply

