Thankful Thursday:) Happy Thanksgiving Y’All

25 Nov

“The more we thank God, the less we ask of him.” ― Ron Brackin

***********

It’s nice that we set aside one day out of her year to be thankful. But, why is it just one day a year? Maybe we should have Thanksgiving every third Thursday of every month. Wouldn’t that be nice? We could have a big turkey dinner with all the fixings, and have all the relatives over,  and then everyone lay around like overstuffed gorillas. Okay! Never mind. That’s not such a good idea after all.

But, it would be a good idea to set aside more than just one day to be thankful. How about every day that ends with “y.” Today I am thankful for many things. First and foremost is my family. I have two amazing sons, a wonderful mother, two sisters, gads of aunts, uncles, a zillion cousins, and many special in-law relatives that will always remain part of my family. I don’t get to see theses folks often, and some I have never even met. But, they are family, and I love them. Thank goodness for Facebook, because I get to keep in touch with family far away. 

Then, I have so many dear friends here in McKinney, back home in the Chicago area, and others scattered around the country. So, yes, I have much to be thankful for. I have many material possessions, a house, a car, and stuff. It’s all stuff. Friends and family are the most important.

Today, I am thankful for all the calls and texts from family and friends. I am thankful for my dear friend, Jim, who not only helped me prepare a wonderful dinner, but also washed all the dishes and helped me clean up the mess. 

It was a beautiful sunny autumn day here in McKinney, a beautiful Thanksgiving day. I hope yours was great too.

“The more we thank God, the less we ask of him.” 

― Ron Brackin

(I guess I don’t have a lot to ask Him for.)


Leave a Reply

