Friday:) A Few Special Friends, Fine Food, and Fun Gifts

3 Dec

“Homemade and handcrafted with love is the greatest gift to give, and the greatest gift to receive.”

-Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**************
“Presents are made for the pleasure of who gives them, not the merits of who receives them.” 

― Carlos Ruiz Zafón

***************

Christmas is my favorite time of year. Personally, I think we should have the Christmas spirit all year round, but it doesn’t work that way. I like that people seem jollier, strangers are cheerful, and I love all the lights, decorations, and glitz. Yes! The more glitz the better.

One of the cool things about being an artist with many artist friends is, we get to share our talents with one another. We share ideas, teach each other various crafty techniques, share art supplies, and sometimes go shopping and thrifting together. The absolute BEST part is the homemade gifts for birthdays and holidays. Homemade and handcrafted with love is the greatest gift.

I was thinking about that this morning as I was making my homemade pasta salad for lunch. If I was given the option of the gift of a pair of two carat diamond earrings or a pink  painted noodle necklace that my son made just for me in kindergarten, well, you know I’d choose the noodle necklace. I don’t think I’m the only one, either. So, as I packed up my handpainted ornaments for my friends and finished embellishing my homemade pasta salad, I was excited to see what creative and lovely gifts would be shared at our little artist girlfriend gathering. 


Lynne, me, Sherry and Lynda. The talent and creativity of these lovely ladies could light up the evening sky. 


This is the ornament that I made for my friends this year.


We had lunch at Lynda’s new studio in the historic district in McKinney. The room is filled to the brim with amazing watercolor masterpieces. An artist’s dream studio. We sat and visited and giggled and ate. It was a wonderful afternoon, sharing food, friendship and special gifts. That’s what the holidays are all about.


Here are some the special gifts I have received from a few of my special friends. I will cherish them always. By the way, I still have that painted noodle necklace that my son made for me in kindergarten, and all the other treasures my boys made for me. Noodles over diamonds any time.


2 Responses to “Friday:) A Few Special Friends, Fine Food, and Fun Gifts”

  1. GP Cox December 3, 2016 at 11:21 am #

    Happiness IS homemade – love that saying, Toni !!

  2. Bonita December 4, 2016 at 4:07 am #

    Great selfie!!

Leave a Reply

