Saturday:) Some Seriously Sweet Bikers

3 Dec

“If you don’t ride in the rain, you don’t ride.”

~Author Unknown

**************

It was a dark and dreary and rainy morning. Not the greatest day for the Annual Toys for Tots Mortorcylcle Run here in McKinney. But, rain or shine, the ride was taking place. I’ve been attending this charitable event for several years now. NO! I don’t ride a motorcycle, (heaven forbid- I’m a big chicken) but my friends David and Karen Marks are coordinators, and proudly support the national Marine effort to bring toys and joys to children during the holidays. 

Unfortunately, the cold temps, drizzle, and threatening storms kept a lot of bikers from participating. There have been as many as 700 or more participants in the past runs. This morning, probably around seventy five die-hard bikers braved the elements for this worthy cause. These are some seriously sweet bikers.


Santa, Mrs. Claus, and the Marines were on hand to collect toys. My friend David Marks, in the green jacket, has been coordinating the run for eleven years now. Thousands of Dallas area children receive toys during Christmas thanks to the Marines and the many volunteers and sponsors.



3 Responses to “Saturday:) Some Seriously Sweet Bikers”

  1. Bonita December 4, 2016 at 3:31 am #

    😘😘

  2. agriffith1 December 11, 2016 at 3:42 pm #

    Hi Toni,
    Last night, I dragged my hubby, to his credit not kicking and screaming, to a poetry reading at Core Winery in Orcutt, CA. My friend, Ellen Hecht, read aloud from her new book on Amazon to oohs ah’s and applause. 55 Word Shorts. The stories are funny and/or chilling but super short, even more so than Liz’s. I’ll be sending you both copies. Enjoy and Mery Christmas. Today, I’m hiking in the fog at Las Cruces Loop. Hubby said mountain lions are extra hungry right now, but that won’t stop me. I created a hiking group on meet up. In my writing group I presented my new idea to write a short story set in Scherbinka, Russia. I stumbled on an incredible news story which stated John Paul Jones once sailed with the Black Fleet and help defeat the Turks. The town is working on a Brothers in Arms museum for showcasing US and Russian shared history. My story is an espionage/murder mystery, my two favorite genres. I’m literally stepping out of my comfort zone. It feels marvelous. P.S. I used a plot generator from the U.K. for the pitch. FUN. Go bikers in the rain!

    • toniandrukaitis December 11, 2016 at 7:11 pm #

      Wow! You are really a busy gal, and your new book sounds pretty exciting. I am so happy for you. A beautiful person deserves to be surrounded by beautiful vistas, poetry, writing, and good friends and family. I am glad you are so blessed, my friend,

Leave a Reply

