Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff

5 Dec

“Nothing erases the past. There is repentance, there is atonement, and there is forgiveness. That is all, but that is enough.” 

― Ted Chiang

***********

A fine Sunday. I expected it to be a lot colder this morning, being a little disappointed, because if it was colder, I was going to wear my sock monkey wool hat to church? Darn! Dignity prevailed, silliness must wait for a colder morning.

Today’s Gospel was the story of John the Baptist, preaching in the desert of Judea and saying, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”

When he saw many of the Pharisees and Sadducees coming to his baptism, he said to them, “You brood of vipers! Who warned you to flee from the coming wrath? Produce good fruit as evidence of your repentance. And do not presume to say to yourselves, ‘We have Abraham as our father.’

*************

My take on it…you can talk all you want and pretend you are sorry, but if you continue your evil ways and do not make amends, God knows what’s in your heart. You can’t fool Him.

After Mass, the women’s craft group had their holiday sale. Guess who I saw? My dear friend, Miss Bonita.




I bought another cross for my collection and an ornament. All the crafts were made by the church ladies in the group.

After Mass, I stopped at the store, then went for a walk. It was a gloomy day. But, the layers of gorgeous grey clouds were breathtaking with the contrasting fall colors. 


It was a fine day. HAPPY SUNDAY!


2 Responses to “Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff”

  1. dancingpalmtrees December 5, 2016 at 2:45 pm #

    Your post hits the nail on the head regarding forgiveness.

    • toniandrukaitis December 5, 2016 at 3:56 pm #

      Thank you. Sometimes it’s difficult to forgive. I know. I’m working on it. On a brighter note, as we speak, my son and daughter-in-law are in the hospital expecting their first baby. I’ll be a grandma soon. Yay!

Leave a Reply

