Saturday:) Sometimes You Really Need Your Glasses

11 Dec

There is nothing invisible in this universe! There is only our lack of eyesight!~Mehmet Murat Ildan
*****************

After my almost mishap at the DMV a couple of weeks ago, I should have known to be more careful with anything to do with my vision. The nice lady did pass me after many contortions and Hail Marys while trying to read for the vision test.  I’m far sighted, so driving isn’t a problem. I just need “cheater glasses” or readers for reading small print. 

Wednesday, I was scurrying around trying to finish painting and glittering some Christmas ornaments, and decided to bake a batch of brownies for my support group at church, also. I grabbed the box from the well stocked pantry. (I have ten to twenty boxes in there at any given time.) I don’t even have to read the directions any more. I’ve made aapproximately ten million batches of brownies in my lifetime…well…almost. (I tend to exaggerate.)

I ripped open the mix, threw it in a bowl, cracked two eggs, poured in about 1/2 cup oil and 1/4 of water and mixed.  I chopped up some Snicker candy bars, sprinkled on top and threw them in the oven at 350, turned on the timer and went upstairs to paint another twenty minutes.

When the buzzer went off, I ran downstairs, got the toothpick and checked for doneness. The puffy mixture popped and sank like a soufflé gone wrong. Hmm? It didn’t look right. I checked the box still sitting on the counter. No wonder. It was a triple chocolate fudge cake mix, not a brownie mix. It needed 3 eggs and a full cup of water. See how much the boxes look alike? Oh no! They didn’t look so happy.

So, I put on my glasses and went back into the pantry and got a brownie mix. This time I looked closely at the directions. I cut up more candy bars, this time added some mini marshmallows and sprinkled with chocolate chips before baking. They turned out  fantastically delicious.

The pan on the right was kinda dry and not as chewy and chocolatey as the brownies. So, I didn’t take them to the church group party. The brownies were perfect. Everyone loved them and I had extra to share with a few neighbors afterwards.


Did I waste the cake mix of mistaken identity brownies? No! I smooshed them up in a bowl, added some homemade cream cheese frosting, kneaded the mixture and made yummy chocolate truffle balls. Waste not, want not. I know you would want these, too. Not many left…they are so good…my tummy hurts to prove it.


One Response to “Saturday:) Sometimes You Really Need Your Glasses”

  1. Bonita December 11, 2016 at 4:20 am #

    Yummm

Leave a Reply

