Sunday Sermon and Some Silly Seniors

19 Dec

“You may not be able to turn back the clock, but you can wind it up again!”

***************

I had the pleasure of attending Sunday Mass with Mom where she lives. A very nice volunteer named Tom, officiated the service. Today’s gospel was the story of the angel appearing to Joseph in a dream…the angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, “Joseph, son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary your wife into your home. For it is through the Holy Spirit that this child has been conceived in her. She will bear a son and you are to name him Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” Joseph obeyed. 

My take on it…often times in life, we are asked to do difficult things. We are often given trials, tribulations, and difficult challenges. Faith, patience, and persistence will get us through the hard times. Lean on family, friends, and your faith.

I made brownies before the service, and took them downstairs, still warm. I put marshmallows and chocolate chips on top before baking. Everyone loved them.


**************

While I’m here visiting with Mom, we are keeping busy. Today was her Christmas party, but she said she didn’t want to go. What? A party! Not go? Her neighbor, Gloria, knocked on the door around 12:30 and said, “Trini, why don’t you have your Christmas outfit on? Where’s your jewelry?” When Mom told her she wasn’t going down for the party, Gloria said, “I’m waiting here until you change into something festive, and we’re going together.”

 I think Mom didn’t want to go down because it was for residents only. No family members or friends were invited. I said, “That’s OK, I’m crashing the party. I like crashing parties.” So, I did. I even told the gal at the desk that I was crashing. We had a great time, singing along with the entertainment, eating all kinds of appetizers, desserts, and drinking champagne. My kind of party. 


Me, Mariane, my mom Trini, and her persistent friend, Gloria.


This gentleman went all out with an entire Christmas suit.


These are special times with my mom. When I look in her eyes, I still see the young active feisty redhead that could run circles around any athlete. Nearly ninety years old, her heart and spirit are still young. When anyone asks who do I admire more than anyone in the world, there is no question. The answer is, MOM.


Leave a Reply

