Theme Song Thursday:) Too Many Pieces

23 Dec

“Not every puzzle is intended to be solved. Some are in place to test your limits. Others are, in fact, not puzzles at all…” ― Vera Nazarian

**************

Today was a day of too many pieces. Actually, it started last night. Did you ever purchase a piece of furniture online that came in a huge heavy box? Then you open it up, only to find dozens of wooden pieces and hundreds of nuts, bolts, screws and washers. Yikes! 

My sister bought my mom a beautiful white wooden headboard for Christmas. The box was so heavy that it took both of us  and all our strength just to slide it into the bedroom. I spent almost two hours last night, attempting to start the assemblage and getting a headstart. 

So many pieces, so little patience!


This is all I got done alone the first night. 

Then today, my sister came over and we spent ALL NIGHT putting the rest of the headboard together. I don’t know, maybe four or five more hours of two people trying to decipher confusing directions and getting long metal screws into dozens of tiny predrilled holes. (I’m sure you can relate, right? They never line up properly.) 

It doesn’t look that complicated, does it? WRONG! This was horrendous. Now, trying to attach it to the bed frame. Yikes! Getting fingers to attach bolts and nuts into tiny little places, tightening and maneuvering. 

When we finally finished around 10 p.m., we called Mom into her room to sit on her bed and check out the new headboard. It looks beautiful, Mom loved it, but my sister and I both looked at each other and said, “Never Again!”

If you look very carefully, to the right of the pretty headboard, there is my Black Russian. It’s not Friday, but I needed a stiff drink. Cheers!

One Response to “Theme Song Thursday:) Too Many Pieces”

  1. Shirley Dragas December 24, 2016 at 2:05 am #

    I know your Mom appreciated all you did and it is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

