Sunday Sermon:) Out With the New, In With the Old.

2 Jan

“Old stories and old memories can bring new joy.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

This morning, I went downstairs with Mom for Mass. A very nice gentleman named Ray, was the volunteer officiate. The Gospel today was about the shepherds finding Mary and Joseph with baby Jesus in the manger. Eight days later he was named Jesus, as Mary was told by the angel before he was conceived.

Ray had an interesting question that I’d never thought of. He said, “Where would we be if Mary had said NO?” Wow! It was her choice, but she chose to do God’s will, although a difficult decision. 

My take on it…sometimes we have to make difficult decisions because we have to trust in God’s plan. What if Mary had said no? Would someone else have been chosen to be the mother of Jesus? Maybe there would be no Jesus, no Christianity. One event could have changed the course of history. 

Wow! That made me think about my own life and the decisions I’ve made. Does God have a plan for all of us, for me? If I hadn’t married my high school sweetheart , I wouldn’t have had the two most wonderful sons in the world. I wouldn’t have just met my new beautiful granddaughter. Even after a devastating divorce, I have a beautiful loving family. I wouldn’t change that for the world. I have to trust that God has a plan for me.

********************

Instead of a NEW story on this New Year’s Day, I thought today I’d share an old story, my very first blog post from four years ago. On  January 1st, 2013, I decided to challenge myself and my writing skills by sharing a blog post every day for a year. I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to think of something to write about for an entire year. Well, 1,473 consecutive posts, and 63,789 views later, I haven’t run out of things to say. 

This was my first post. I’ve  made some great friends here on WordPress, I’ve shared a lot of stories, I’ve made a lot of changes in my life. I still try to share happy news and discoveries. I still fulminate and rant about annoying things, but my husband doesn’t aggravate me anymore. He’s an ex now, and some changes are good.  God has a plan.

HAPPY NEW YEAR! It’s a new day, It’s a new year. It’s an old blog…


Leave a Reply

