Tuesday:) Two Lucky Finds and Some Food

4 Jan

“Here’s the thing about luck…you don’t know if it’s good or bad until you have some perspective.” ― Alice Hoffman

*************

I haven’t  even thought about lucky pennies for a long time. They seem to turn up when I least expect it. This afternoon, my sister and I coerced Mom into going out for lunch at Portillo’s. She didn’t want to venture out, but we didn’t give her a choice. It was almost 40 degrees and pretty darn nice for Chicago weather. As we took a couple of steps from the car, there on the dark black top was a lucky penny, right by Mom’s foot.


Always great food at Portillo’s. Mom had the Chicago hot dog and JoAnn and I had the Polish. Mine was the Maxwell Street Polish sausage with grilled onions. Oh yes, and lots of fries. Yum!


When I got back to Mom’s place later, there in the middle of the hallway floor,  was a lucky dollar. 100 times luckier than a penny, all in the same day.


Maybe my luck was so good because I sampled some black eyed peas on New Year’s Day, a southern good luck tradition. I was too lazy to prepare any kind of recipe with them, so I just opened the can and ate a teaspoon full. (I’m very superstitious and can use all the good luck charms available.)



Leave a Reply

